Pinhard Trophy winner

One of the UK’s most prestigious motorcycling awards, as awarded by the Sunbeam MCC, is the Pinhard Trophy, presented by the club since 1950 to the best under-21-year-old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

This year, the huge three-gallon cup was presented to 19-year-old trials rider, Toby Martyn, a hugely successful young man who has not only represented Great Britain at the X Trial Des Nations and Trial Des Nations, but was also invited to ride at Sheffield Indoor and the second round of the X Trial World Champs in France, while riding for the Beta Factory Team, contesting World, European and British Championship Trials, finishing joint third in the Worlds and 2nd in the British against much more experienced competitors.

Article continues below...

Enjoy more Old Bike Mart reading in the monthly newspaper.
Click here to subscribe & save.

Toby’s response to learning that he will receive the Pinhard Trophy this year was: “Fantastic. I am honoured to receive this prestigious award, so many past winners have gone on to have massive careers and hopefully I can continue this.

“Big thanks to everyone who has considered me worthy of this great award, and thanks to the Sunbeam club members for continuing to present this very special trophy.”

The previous winners that Toby alludes to include Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Ellis, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names.

Article continues below...

Read more News and Features in the February 2020 issue of Old Bike Mart – on sale now!

Subscribe to Old Bike Mart Enjoy more Old Bike Mart reading in the monthly paper. Click here to subscribe.