Pinhard Trophy winner 2018

Awarded yearly to sporting motorcyclists of under 21 years of age in the UK, and now in its 68th year, the Pinhard Trophy is curated by the Sunbeam MCC, and has been previously received by riders such as Scott Redding, Graham Noyce, Doug Lampkin, Mike Hailwood, Steve Colley, Jamie Dobb and John Surtees.

Founded in 1924, the Sunbeam MCC don’t just focus on bikes of that name, but on all classic, veteran and vintage machinery and, aside from organising events such as the Pioneer Run, they also award the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard, who died in 1948 while serving as secretary of the club.

After some very close voting – undertaken by editors of leading motorcycle periodicals, the general secretary of the ACU, the president of the Sunbeam MCC and two officials appointed by the Sunbeam MCC – the massive three-gallon cup was presented to 19-year-old road racer, Ryan Vickers (pictured), at the ACU awards dinner on January 26.


Read more in the February 2019 issue of OBM – on sale now!

Enjoy more Old Bike Mart reading in the monthly paper. Click here to subscribe.