Pinhard Trophy – encouraging the youth in motorcycle sport

Created in 1950, the Pinhard Trophy celebrates the achievements of young riders in motorcycle sports of all types.

Set up by the Sunbeam Club – and, as an aside, remember that the club doesn’t just focus on Sunbeams, but on all early motorcycles, and organises pre-1940 events such as the Pioneer run, as well as classic and modern trials – in memory of Frederick William Pinhard, who was the serving Sunbeam Club secretary when he passed away in 1948.

A young Mike Hailwood collects the Pinhard trophy in 1958.

Previous winners include such greats as John Surtees in 1954, Mike Hailwood in ’58, Graham Noyce in ’75, Dave Thorpe in ’82, Steve Colley in ’91, Dougie Lampkin in ’93 and current MotoGP riders Scott Redding (2008) and Bradley Smith (2009). So, as you can see, the trophy includes everything from trials to road racing via speedway, enduro and motocross.

Article continues below...

Enjoy more Old Bike Mart reading in the monthly newspaper.
Click here to subscribe & save.

Read more in the October 2018 issue of OBM – on sale now!

Subscribe to Old Bike Mart Enjoy more Old Bike Mart reading in the monthly paper. Click here to subscribe.